Archive for June, 2012

Great American NO BULL Challenge honors Harvey Weinstein with Lifetime Achievement Award

Monday, June 4th, 2012

SAN FRANCISCO ( May 25, 2012 — The Great American NO BULL Challenge is pleased to announce Harvey Weinstein, The Weinstein Company Co-Chairman, as the recipient of the first annual “Stand Up Lifetime Achievement Award”. The NO BULL Executive Nominating Committee selected Weinstein for his activism in raising awareness and changing lives on the subject of bullying. The committee also points to Weinstein’s strong support of Indie filmmakers as a factor in its decision.

The award will be presented at the first annual NO BULL Teen Video Awards in San Francisco, July 21st.

Weinstein’s company produced the documentary, “Bully” and Weinstein successfully fought the MPAA’s “R” rating given to the film. Mr. Weinstein says, “The real heroes here are these teen filmmakers who are using their time and talent to fight bullying. I’m honored to be associated with this group and to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award on behalf of all of us in the arts who use our voices and influence to fight this fight.”

The film’s director, Lee Hirsch, and main subject, Alex Libby, will attend the video awards ceremony and accept the award on Weinstein’s behalf.

Shawn Edginton, Founder and President of the Great American NO BULL Challenge and Teen Video Awards said, “It was an obvious decision for the committee to select Mr. Weinstein as the first Stand Up Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. Harvey Weinstein has been able to successfully raise the awareness about all of the different aspects of bullying and how it effects so many youth across our country in different ways. Harvey is a true change-maker using the power of film, which is what the NO BULL Challenge represents.”

From the hundreds of videos submitted to the NO BULL Challenge, a panel of judges including: Dr.Mehmet Oz and his wife Lisa Oz, Lee Hirsch, director of “Bully”, Debbie Liebling, President of Ben Stiller’s Red Hour Films, Ann Shoket, Editor-In-Chief of Seventeen Magazine are among the industry experts and celebrity teens that have selected the 15 nominees to attend the Teen Video Awards in July.

About Harvey Weinstein:
Over the past 25 years, American independent film has seen no better advocate than this man from Flushing, N.Y. Now 60, he remains as relevant as ever, with The Artist following in the victorious footsteps of The English Patient and The King’s Speech. More recently, Harvey lent vehement support to the documentary Bully, an important film in an age in which such a concept has almost been forgotten.

About The Great American NO BULL Challenge and Teen Video Awards:
The NO BULL Challenge is the largest annual youth-led campaign and video contest in America that tackles bullying at the teen level and is free to all U.S. middle and high schools. The NO BULL Challenge uses the power of social media, music and the magic of filmmaking to inspire 25 million middle and high school students every year to write and direct their own 2-5 minute film that speaks to the widespread epidemic of bullying. The Teen Video Awards will celebrate the culmination of the 3-month, NO BULL Challenge video that will be held every year. Eight youth filmmakers will be announced live at the Teen Video Awards, a high profile, high-energy tribute and celebration to teens around the country.

About Shawn Edgington:
Shawn Marie Edgington is a cyberbullying prevention expert and go-to cyber safety advocate. Edgington is the author of the bestselling book, The Parent’s Guide to Texting, Facebook and Social Media: Understanding the Benefits and Dangers of Parenting in a Digital World, the founder of the Cyber Safety Academy, The Great American NO BULL Challenge and the Teen Video Awards. She’s also the CEO of a national insurance firm, where she provides risk management to clients across the country.

Media Contact:
Suzanne Spurgeon